Your source for information on the latest and greatest in reading arts and entertainment!

Wednesday, September 18, 2019

Book to Movie Discussion!


Join us at the book discussion
Wednesday, October 2nd at 2:30


Image result for book to movie
and then join us at the 
movie screening here at
 Merrick Library
 Friday, October 4th at 1:00pm


Revolutionary Road Image result for book to movie revolutionary road

                           



                                  Image result for popcorn eating gif



Friday, September 13, 2019

Next up! Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates.

Revolutionary Road
Join us at the 
Merrick Library Wednesday Afternoon Book Discussion 

Wednesday, October 2nd
at 2:30pm
for a discussion of
Revolutionary Road 
by Richard Yates. 



Hailed as a masterpiece of realistic fiction and as the most evocative portrayal of the opulent desolation of the American suburbs since it's publication in 1961, Revolutionary Road is the story of Frank and April Wheeler, a bright, beautiful, and talented couple who have lived on the assumption that greatness is only just around the corner. With heartbreaking compassion and remorseless clarity, Richard Yates shows how Frank and April mortgage their spiritual birthright, betraying not only each other, but their best selves.

Wednesday, July 24, 2019

Get ready for our Adult Summer Reading Party!

Image result for jill santopolo
Join us Thursday, August 15th at 7pm as we host author Jill Santopolo at our Summer Reading Party!

This will be quite the event, so don't miss it!

Hardcover 

Tuesday, April 9, 2019

Hello Book Discussion Group! Get ready for Wednesday July 10th @ 2:30pm...

Cannot wait to see you at the next book discussion which brings us: 
The Light We Lost by Jill Santopolo

Synopsis:

Lucy and Gabe, two Columbia University students who meet as college seniors, decide they want their lives to mean something, launching a thirteen-year journey of dreams, betrayals, and love that brings Lucy to a point where she must make a life-altering choice. 

Book Discussion will be held on 
Wednesday, July 10th at 2:30pm.

Then come meet Jill in person at the 
Summer Reading Party 
on Thursday, August 15th at 7pm.


Saturday, March 9, 2019

Author Visit!

Image result for we were strangers once

 Author Visit! 

Come and meet
Betsy Carter
at our 

Wednesday Afternoon Book Discussion! 

Wednesday, 
April 3rd at 2:30pm



Image result for betsy carter

"Carter's warm and beautiful prose brings us love, tragedy, mystery and hope in a moving celebration of America and the people who have come to it."--Amy Bloom, New York Times bestselling author of Lucky Us and Away

For fans of 
The Nightingale and Brooklyn 
comes an exquisite and unforgettable novel
 about friendship, love, and redemption 
in a circle of immigrants who flee Europe 
for 1930s-era 
New York City.

Copies of We Were Strangers Once are at the Circulation Desk.

Monday, February 11, 2019

The 2019 Long Island Reads winner is here!



Image result for the female persuasion
Join us at the Wednesday Afternoon Book Discussion 


Wednesday, March 6th at 2:30 pm
as we discuss:



The Female Persuasion
by Meg Wolitzer

A college student finds her perspectives transformed by a mentor activist at the center of the women's movement who challenges her to discover herself in ways that take her far from the traditional life she envisioned.

Wednesday, January 23, 2019

Welcome again to 2019! Here's some news I think you could use...

newspaper pulling GIF

***
We lost Pulitzer Prize winning poet Mary Oliver last week at the age of 82. 
Oliver's work was simply astounding- 
she published more than 20 books, including the Pulitzer-winning 
 The NYTimes noted, "For her quiet, measured observations, and for her fiercely private personal mien (she gave many readings but few interviews, saying she wanted her work to speak for itself), she was likened to Emily Dickinson." She "often described her vocation as the observation of life."


***
Keep your eyes open for the 
fabulous debut novel, 
I was very fortunate to host 
Anissa Gray on our
#givealistenreadthebook

***
On her twitter feed two days ago, Celeste Ng shared this news 
about her book, 
It's being adapted into a feature film with Julia Roberts attached to 
play Marilyn. 

***
has a movie release date 
of August 9th.
This cast gives me hope that one of my favorite books-to-movie treatments will not be disappointing!

***
one kick by chelsea cain

Great news to discover that Chelsea Cain's One Kick will also get a 12-episode series starring  Chris Noth on the WGN network. 
  


***
This week is Edith Wharton's birthday week, 

Image result for mary oliver poems tell me what it is png

Thursday, January 10, 2019

Wednesday Afternoon Book Discussion is the hottest ticket in town...and the best part is, you don't need one!

Image result for audience of people gif


We had 44 patrons show up for our 
January book discussion of 
The Summer Wives 
featuring a wonderful Skype with the delightful author Beatriz Williams!


Don't miss out next month as we read and discuss, Meet Me at the Museum by Anne Youngson.

Image result for meet me at the museum




Wednesday, February 6th at 2:30pm




See you there!