Your source for information on the latest and greatest in reading arts and entertainment!

Tuesday, April 9, 2019

Hello Book Discussion Group! Get ready for Wednesday July 10th @ 2:30pm...

Cannot wait to see you at the next book discussion which brings us: 
The Light We Lost by Jill Santopolo

Synopsis:

Lucy and Gabe, two Columbia University students who meet as college seniors, decide they want their lives to mean something, launching a thirteen-year journey of dreams, betrayals, and love that brings Lucy to a point where she must make a life-altering choice. 

Book Discussion will be held on 
Wednesday, July 10th at 2:30pm.

Then come meet Jill in person at the 
Summer Reading Party 
on Thursday, August 15th at 7pm.


Saturday, March 9, 2019

Author Visit!

Image result for we were strangers once

 Author Visit! 

Come and meet
Betsy Carter
at our 

Wednesday Afternoon Book Discussion! 

Wednesday, 
April 3rd at 2:30pm



Image result for betsy carter

"Carter's warm and beautiful prose brings us love, tragedy, mystery and hope in a moving celebration of America and the people who have come to it."--Amy Bloom, New York Times bestselling author of Lucky Us and Away

For fans of 
The Nightingale and Brooklyn 
comes an exquisite and unforgettable novel
 about friendship, love, and redemption 
in a circle of immigrants who flee Europe 
for 1930s-era 
New York City.

Copies of We Were Strangers Once are at the Circulation Desk.

Monday, February 11, 2019

The 2019 Long Island Reads winner is here!



Image result for the female persuasion
Join us at the Wednesday Afternoon Book Discussion 


Wednesday, March 6th at 2:30 pm
as we discuss:



The Female Persuasion
by Meg Wolitzer

A college student finds her perspectives transformed by a mentor activist at the center of the women's movement who challenges her to discover herself in ways that take her far from the traditional life she envisioned.

Wednesday, January 23, 2019

Welcome again to 2019! Here's some news I think you could use...

newspaper pulling GIF

***
We lost Pulitzer Prize winning poet Mary Oliver last week at the age of 82. 
Oliver's work was simply astounding- 
she published more than 20 books, including the Pulitzer-winning 
 The NYTimes noted, "For her quiet, measured observations, and for her fiercely private personal mien (she gave many readings but few interviews, saying she wanted her work to speak for itself), she was likened to Emily Dickinson." She "often described her vocation as the observation of life."


***
Keep your eyes open for the 
fabulous debut novel, 
I was very fortunate to host 
Anissa Gray on our
#givealistenreadthebook

***
On her twitter feed two days ago, Celeste Ng shared this news 
about her book, 
It's being adapted into a feature film with Julia Roberts attached to 
play Marilyn. 

***
has a movie release date 
of August 9th.
This cast gives me hope that one of my favorite books-to-movie treatments will not be disappointing!

***
one kick by chelsea cain

Great news to discover that Chelsea Cain's One Kick will also get a 12-episode series starring  Chris Noth on the WGN network. 
  


***
This week is Edith Wharton's birthday week, 

Image result for mary oliver poems tell me what it is png

Thursday, January 10, 2019

Wednesday Afternoon Book Discussion is the hottest ticket in town...and the best part is, you don't need one!

Image result for audience of people gif


We had 44 patrons show up for our 
January book discussion of 
The Summer Wives 
featuring a wonderful Skype with the delightful author Beatriz Williams!


Don't miss out next month as we read and discuss, Meet Me at the Museum by Anne Youngson.

Image result for meet me at the museum




Wednesday, February 6th at 2:30pm




See you there!



Monday, December 24, 2018

Merry Christmas to all our patrons and a very Happy & Healthy 2019!

Image result for thank you gif sparkle

Wishing all our patrons a very 
happy & healthy 2019!

We thank you for your continued support.

Looking forward to a year filled with 

Standing Ovation Applause GIF



Wednesday, December 19, 2018

Here come Head of Adult Services Diane's Favorites of 2018!

crossfit GIF

Click on any title to place a hold!

he host of The Daily Show With Trevor Noah traces his wild coming of age during the twilight of apartheid in South Africa and the tumultuous days of freedom that followed, offering insight into the farcical aspects of the political and social systems of today's world.

Traces the author's experiences as a child born to survivalists in the mountains of Idaho, describing her participation in her family's paranoid stockpiling activities and her resolve to educate herself well enough to earn an acceptance into a prestigious university and the unfamiliar world beyond.

Branded for her affair with her congressman boss, an intern and blogger changes her name and moves to a remote town in Maine with her young daughter before local prompting to run for public office forces her to reckon with the past.

Given a chance to resume a deferred dream years after raising her troubled siblings, Isma worries about the influence of a powerful politician's son who drives the family to choose between love and loyalty, with devastating consequences.

Little Fires Everywhere, Celeste Ng
When a custody battle divides her placid town, straitlaced family woman Elena Richardson finds herself pitted against her enigmatic tenant and becomes obsessed with exposing her past, only to trigger devastating consequences for both families.
In early 1900s Korea, prized daughter Sunja finds herself pregnant and alone, bringing shame on her family until a young tubercular minister offers to marry her and move with her to Japan, in the saga of one family bound together as their faith and identity are called into question.

Discussing motherhood, marriage, friendship, and the legacy of her great-great-great grandfather, Ralph Waldo Emerson, the author, who has been diagnosed with terminal breast cancer, explores what makes a meaningful life when one has limited time.

A shocking discovery while on their honeymoon in Bora Bora forces Mark and Erin to make a dangerous choice between speaking out or protecting their secret.

Having spent her entire youth under Japanese occupation, a young woman in World War II-era Korea follows in her mother's footsteps as an elite female diver, only to be forced into prostitution in order to save her beloved younger sister.

After the Russells move in next door, Anna Fox, a recluse, finds her world crumbling when she witnesses something she shouldn't.

happy mad scientist GIF by Fun'n'Fab LAB