Your source for information on the latest and greatest in reading arts and entertainment!

Thursday, August 18, 2016

The Non-Man Booker Longlist...

The 2016 Man Booker Longlist has been announced 

There is controversy about this current list, 
leading The Guardian UK to publish it's own (very) long list of titles called,
The Guardian lists over 100 of them!

Here's Marlon James in 2015 accepting his award for "A Brief History of Seven Killings"

So what the heck is the Man Booker Prize? 
Here's the description from :

"The leading prize for quality fiction in English"
"First awarded in 1969, the Man Booker Prize is recognised as the leading prize for high quality literary fiction written in English. Its list of winners features many of the literary giants of the last four decades:
The rules of the prize were changed at the end of 2013 to embrace the English language ‘in all its vigour, its vitality, its versatility and its glory’, opening up to writers beyond the UK and Commonwealth.
The Man Booker Prize is sponsored by Man Group, one of the world’s largest independent alternative investment managers."

No comments:

Post a Comment