Your source for information on the latest and greatest in reading arts and entertainment!

Thursday, September 12, 2013

Images of the 2013 5 Under 35 Honorees Book Jackets

5 Under 35 2013: National Book Foundation Announces Honorees

The National Book Foundation has announced its eighth annual 5 Under 35 honorees. Each young author was selected by a past National Book Award finalist or winner, and will be awarded $1,000, donated by Amazon. This year's selection includes both novelists and short story writers and all five honorees are women.

Molly Antopol, author of "The UnAmericans"
Selected by Jesmyn Ward, this short story collection chronicles dissident art movements in the 70s, McCarthyism in Hollywood, and other less-than-patriotic activities. Selected by Jesmyn Ward, National Book Award Winner in 2011 for Salvage the Bones.
NoViolet Bulawayo, author of "We Need New Names" This semi-autobiographical novel describes protagonist Darling's transition from living among Zimbabwe's Lost Decade to struggling as a teenager in America. Selected by Junot Diaz, National Book Award Finalist in 2012 for This is How You Lose Her.

Amanda Coplin, author of "The Orchardist" This novel evokes the solitude of the American West, as seen through the eyes of an orchardist who provides shelter for two runaway teenagers. Selected by Louise Erdrich, National Book Award Winner in 2012 for Round House.
Daisy Hildyard, author of "Hunters in the Snow"  This book tells the story of a woman attempting to piece together the life of her deceased grandfather by sifting through his belongings. Selected by Kevin Powers, National Book Award Finalist for Yellow Birds.
Merritt Tierce, author of "Love Me Back" (Fall 2014) This short story collection is a set of linked tales, all set in Dallas, Texas. Selected by Ben Fountain, National Book Award Finalist in 2012 for Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk.
Come in today to grab your copies.

No comments:

Post a Comment